When the last user of a VFS shut it down at the same time as a new
user of the same remote asked for one, the new user could be given the
VFS being shut down, with its cache and background tasks stopped.
Only a VFS which is still in use is now reused, otherwise a new one is
made.
(cherry picked from commit c62aa2adc9)